Activity Forums Salesforce® Discussions What is Order of Execution in Salesforce?

  • Shweta

    January 27, 2020 at 12:37 pm

    Order of Execution in Salesforce runs in the following order:

    • Executes all before triggers.
    • System validations are performed.
    • Custom validations are performed.
    • Saves the record but does not commit
    • Executes all after triggers.
    • Executes assignment rules
    • Executes auto-response rules
    • Executes workflow rules
    • Executes escalation rules
    • Commits to the database
  • Anuj

    January 27, 2020 at 12:56 pm

    Hi Pooja,

    When you perform certain statements in Salesforce  like Insert, Update or Upsert , Salesforce define some order to execute it.

    Its comes under best practise when you follow the order of execution defined by Salesforce.

    For More Info please check out this link:

  • Sumit

    January 27, 2020 at 2:11 pm

    1. The original record is loaded from the database (or initialized for an insert statement)
    2. The new record field values are loaded from the request and overwrite the old values
    3. All before triggers execute (TRIGGERS)
    4. System validation occurs, such as verifying that all required fields have a non-null value, and running any user-defined validation rules (VALIDATIONS)
    5. The record is saved to the database, but not yet committed
    6. All after triggers execute
    7. Assignment rules execute
    8. Auto-response rules execute
    9. Workflow rules execute (WORKFLOW)
    10. If there are workflow field updates, the record is updated again
    11. If the record was updated with workflow field updates, before and after triggers fire one more time (and only one more time)
    12. Escalation rules execute
    13. All DML operations are committed to the database
    14. Post-commit logic executes, such as sending email

Log In to reply.

Popular Salesforce Blogs

Popular Salesforce Videos